Happy Embryo-versary!

 

Untitled.jpg
Our little girl at the very beginning, and now.

It’s hard to believe it’s been a whole year since our little embryo was created in the lab. She’s now a spunky, sweet, opinionated 3.5-month-old baby who is curious about everything and makes us laugh every day.

I know I haven’t been very good about keeping up with this blog now that she’s here. But, you guys, this motherhood thing… it is hard work. I’m home with her full-time and will be for at least another 8-9 months, which is both amazing and exhausting. I love spending every day with her. But it doesn’t leave a lot of time for much else.

IMG_7906.JPG

So, how is she these days? Well, luckily for us, she’s a champion sleeper. She started sleeping through the night at 9 weeks and, with the exception of some random growth spurts here and there, she sleeps every night from roughly 7pm to 7:30am. She’s a big smiler and loves it when we talk to her, sing songs, and make funny faces. We’re still waiting for her first laugh, but I don’t think it’s far off. These days she always wants to be held upright or sitting up (supported) so that she can see what’s going on. She’s not a big fan of being strapped into her carseat or stroller; she wants to be carried on my hip or sit in the Boba wrap. She’s so intensely interested in everything going on around her.

IMG_8153.JPG

My health has been pretty good. The fact that she’s such a good sleeper is a huge factor in how well I feel. When she was smaller and waking up a lot in the night my lung function dropped and I kept getting recurring sinus infections. I’ve been able to stay off antibiotics so far, which has been wonderful because it means I can continue breastfeeding. I’m planning to continue breastfeeding her until she’s at least six months old, if possible. Before I had her I figured I’d stop after a few months so I could start Orkambi, but she derives so much comfort from it that I’m finding it really hard to think about switching her to formula. And she hates drinking from a bottle, but that’s another story!

I do wish my lung function had bounced back better. It got up to 84% last month, but at my check up last week it was down to 79%, which was discouraging. My doctors are still confident it will get back to where it was, but it’s definitely harder for me to get all my treatments in, rest, and eat well now that she’s here. I’m committed to keeping myself well, so I rarely miss a treatment, but I do often end up with a baby in my lap while doing my vest!

All in all, things are wonderful. I wish I could go back a year ago, when I was so anxious, and give myself a glimpse of the future. All the pain, frustration, worry and tears are so, so worth it.

IMG_7579.JPG

2 thoughts on “Happy Embryo-versary!

  1. So cool! It is TOUGH huh! Much harder than I ever imagined but the little great moments make it so worth it!! We just got our first laugh a few weeks ago (15 or so weeks?) but it’s very inconsistent she’s laughed 4 times in total…-all for her dad 😒 I’m obviously just not funny enough he says!
    Happy embryo-versary it’s crazy to think what has happened since then huh (we just had ours a month or so ago!)

    Like

  2. Ps super jealous of the sleeping! We get up usually once a night, which is pretty good compared to many stories I hear and last week she did 2x 7.5hour sleeps from 8/9pm – 3.30/4.30 am which was amazing! Bring on more of those!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

