37 Weeks

bumpie.png

How far along? 37 weeks and 4 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016 (but I’m getting induced August 2nd!)

Total weight gain: Still right around 12 pounds.

Maternity Clothes: Yep! Although the dress in the picture above is just an XL maxi dress from Target I bought for a luau party my husband and I attended last night. 🙂

Stretch Marks: Yes (sigh). There are quite a few now, all in the area underneath my belly button. I can only see them in the mirror but they’re pretty noticeable. I’m hoping they fade after birth. Also – my belly is so itchy in that area. It’s so hard not to scratch it!

Sleep: Still feeling really sleepy. I usually take a two-hour nap around 5pm, then sleep from about 1 or 2am to 10am. I’ll often wake up around 5am and have trouble getting back to sleep. All in all I’m getting plenty of sleep, but it’s fragmented. I guess it’s good preparation for being up every two hours to feed a newborn!

Best Moment of the Week: I think we finally have everything ready for the baby! I decided to look into bassinets so the baby can sleep right next to our bed in the early days. Even though the crib is set up just a few steps from the bed, I really wanted something right next to me so I don’t have to get out of bed to check on the baby or breastfeed. Fortunately, we were gifted a pack ‘n play with a bassinet attachment, so we just ordered some sheets and we’re good to go! I’ve definitely been doing some nesting this week but at least for now, I feel happy with how everything is set up. Hopefully this ends the compulsion to move furniture around. Between my (large) size and the (tiny) size of our apartment it feels like furniture tetris.

I also had a good appointment with my OB this week. Everything is still looking good – baby is head-down, she seems to be a good size, and I have plenty of fluid. The non-stress tests have all been normal and at my fluid check ahead of the test I even got to see the baby practicing breathing movements on the ultrasound, which was really cool. It’s funny that she can’t possibly know why she’s practicing breathing and sucking, since they’re completely superfluous to her at this moment, but they’ll become crucial in just a week and a half!

I asked my OB to tell me a bit more about the induction process. I’ll be going in at 7:30pm on August 2nd and they’ll check my cervix at that time. If I’m already a bit dilated they may just start the pitocin, but if not, they’ll likely start off with cervidil or another medication to get me to start dilating. If they use cervidil it will need to stay in for 12 hours, then they’ll start pitocin the following morning as long as I’m dilating normally. From there it’s really a crap shoot in terms of how long it will take for me to deliver. It just depends how I respond to the meds. My doctor said if I go in with a cervix that’s not favorable (not effaced or dilated) it could take “a few days.” Yikes. Luckily when she checked me on Wednesday I was already 50% effaced and about a fingertip dilated, which is something. I’m hoping I’ll have progressed a bit more when she checks me again this Wednesday.

Unfortunately she won’t be the doctor actually delivering my baby or working with me through the induction. The way the practice works is the doctors all take shifts in labor and delivery, so I’ll be delivered by whoever is on that day. She was able to tell me who will be on and was able to introduce me to two of the doctors I’ll probably see, which was nice, but it’s a bit nerve-wracking that she won’t be around.

Miss Anything? As always: sweets. My sugars have been more difficult to control these last few weeks, which is apparently normal in late pregnancy. I still haven’t needed to go on insulin (knock on wood!) but I’ve needed to be extra careful with my diet. I really wish I could have a great big plate of blueberry pancakes!

Movement: Lots! She’s almost always kicking on the right side these days. Usually they’re rolling/stretching movements but occasionally she’ll get a good kick in and really surprise me. She’s big enough now that it can hurt!

Food cravings: Sweet foods, fruit, cake, etc. I’m limiting myself to just berries and the occasional peach since they don’t seem to affect my blood sugar too much… although I did have a little pineapple upside down cake at a party last night. 😉 One of my favorite snacks right now is ants on a log (celery with peanut butter and raisins) since it’s just sweet enough to satisfy me, but it’s healthy.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Just coughing in the morning. I haven’t vomited in a while, though.

Symptoms: Sleepiness, thirst, back pain, some pelvic pain. I’ve been occasionally getting shooting pains in my cervix which my doctor said is normal – it’s probably just the baby’s head pressing on a nerve. It usually happens late in the day and it hurts! I’ve also had some problems with my hips feeling sore from lying on my side in bed all the time (and probably from the ligaments loosening). Basically, I just feel big and uncomfortable most of the time.

Belly button in or out: Still way out!

Happy or Moody: Mostly happy. I’m getting more and more excited to meet this baby. But I get grumpy in the evenings when I just can’t seem to get comfortable.

Looking forward to: Induction day! Just a week and a half left! Or, better yet, maybe she’ll decide to come sooner on her own. I kind of doubt that will happen, and it would really mess with our carefully made plans for pet care/apartment cleaning/family travel, but it would really be nice to not have to slog through an induction.

Leave a Reply

