36 Weeks

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

How far along? 36 weeks and 4 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016 (but we’re getting induced on August 2nd!)

Total weight gain: 12 pounds

Maternity Clothes: Yep! And even some of the maternity stuff is getting too small!

Stretch Marks: At long last, yes. 😦 They started appearing within the last week in the area under my belly button. The skin there has been super itchy, too. Booo.

Sleep: I’ve been very sleepy and very easy to tire lately. I take a late afternoon nap most days.

Best Moment of the Week: Probably today! My husband has been super busy at work this week (getting home anywhere from 9pm to 3am every night) which is kind of a bummer. But today he was able to take some time to hang out, so we walked down to a little street festival near our apartment. Even though it was hot and I’m a pretty slow, waddle-y mover at this point, it was great to just stroll around and take in the sights. Our only purchase (besides some street food!) was at a little booth selling hand-made baby girl clothes. They were so cute, and my husband really wanted to pick some things out! Here’s what we ended up with:

IMG_6852.JPG
My husband picked out the hat on the left with all the animals. I loved the mermaid dress, and I obviously have a thing for polka dots too. So cute!

Miss Anything? I’ve gotta be honest, this week has been rough for food cravings. My blood sugars, which have behaved so nicely for the whole pregnancy, are now starting to creep up despite my low-carb diet. If I have pretty much anything with refined sugar or potatoes they just shoot right up, even if it’s just one bite. My doctor says that since the baby is looking so good on ultrasound that it’s not necessary for me to start insulin, but we’re keeping a close eye on things. In the mean time I’m eating mostly eggs, cheese, and meat with some low-glycemic-index veggies and fruits. I really can’t wait until after the birth when I can really satisfy my sweet tooth! It’s summertime and I would love to have a lemonade or a slushie or a big ice cream cone…

Movement: Lots! We’re still doing our kick counts every evening and we usually get to 10 movements within 15-20 minutes. She’s an active little thing.

Food cravings: Sweets! Alas, I cannot have them. See above…

Anything make you sick or queasy: Just coughing on an empty stomach in the morning. I’ve had a little uptick in nausea in the past week or two, but I haven’t thrown up too much since I’ve been good about eating something as soon as I get out of bed.

Symptoms: Back pain, some pelvic pressure, Braxton-Hicks, leg cramps at night, fatigue.

Belly button in or out: Way out. In fact, one of the baby’s favorite new tricks is sticking a fist or a foot into my belly button and pushing it as far out as it can go. It really freaks me out! When she starts doing that I try to hold my belly button in with my hand as best I can until she changes position.

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy these days. 🙂

Looking forward to: Having this baby! Only 17 days until induction… fewer if she decides to come sooner! Crazy!

FullSizeRender (1).jpg
So big! This was taken a few days ago and you can see the beginnings of some stretch marks down below. They’re darker now.
2 thoughts on “36 Weeks

Leave a Reply

