33 Weeks + First Doula Visit

FullSizeRender.jpg
Taking bump selfies with my cat at the vet!

How far along? 33 weeks and 6 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: About 11-12 pounds

Maternity Clothes: Yes! Regular shirts – even the big ones – just don’t fit. Even if I can squeeze them over my belly they’re too short.

Stretch Marks: None yet!

Sleep: I’m feeling soooo sleepy these days. It’s like the first trimester all over again. I end up napping for a few hours every afternoon/evening. Luckily I’ve been sleeping a bit better since the stress of the GRE is over, but I’m often still waking up with hip pain from sleeping exclusively on my side, even though I use the body pillow. I never appreciated how awesome it is to be able to sleep in any position you want!

Best Moment of the Week: Little Miss behaved a lot better at her non-stress test this week! They didn’t need to use the buzzer this time – she wiggled around plenty on her own.

Also – totally unrelated – but the Game of Thrones finale last night was amazing. I’m already planning my Halloween costume for this year:

costume.jpg

Miss Anything? Carby sweets like pancakes and waffles.

Movement: Tons! I’m pretty sure she’s been hanging out head-down since all of the kicking these days is higher up. Hopefully she stays that way! Her favorite place to kick recently has been my right hip and just below my right ribs. She also does a lot of rolling around. It’s crazy seeing my entire belly moving in and out and side to side. I’ve been trying to get a good video of it but as soon as I grab my phone she stops!

Food cravings: Fruit! I’ve been on such a fruit & veggies kick lately, which I guess is a good thing. Every Sunday I go to the farmers market down the street and stock up. My faves right now are blueberries + yogurt, peaches + heavy cream, tomatoes + mozzarella, artichokes + butter, and cold raw green beans! Eating something fatty with the fruit slows my digestion so it doesn’t spike my blood sugar.

Anything make you sick or queasy: I’ve been feeling more queasy now than I did in my second trimester, but it’s not as bad as in my first. I’m not thrilled at the return of the nausea but at least it’s not for much longer. The only times I throw up are first thing in the morning before I’ve had anything to eat, so as long as I can eat some yogurt or something right away I’m usually ok.

Symptoms: I was complaining to my husband the other day about just feeling big and stretched and uncomfortable, then we watched a YouTube video of another lady who was also 33 weeks pregnant. She was dealing with a ton of swelling, nausea, stretch marks, etc. and we were both thinking I’m actually pretty lucky! I haven’t had any swelling in my hands or feet, and my nausea is pretty occasional. I do feel big and hot and uncomfortable, especially in the evenings, but it’s bearable. My back is sometimes sore, but not terribly so. The thing I hate most is the shortness of breath. It feels hard to get a deep breath and I just feel more congested in general.

Belly button in or out: Waaaay out.

Happy or Moody: I’ve been pretty happy these days. My husband had a light week at work so we’ve gotten to spend some quality time together, just relaxing and enjoying each other’s company. It feels like this is the last time we’ll get that without worrying about kids so I’m trying to soak it all up!

Looking forward to: Having this baby! It seems so close now, but it can’t get here soon enough.

Other goings on: This week we officially started our baby classes!

On Monday night we had an expecting parents orientation at the hospital where I’ll be delivering. It included talks by a L&D nurse, an anesthesiologist, and a NICU nurse. It was really informative and everyone was so nice and welcoming. It put my mind at ease. The most dramatic part of the evening was one of the husbands fainting when the anesthesiologist was describing the epidural placement process. He was fine, but I worry about how he’s going to handle the real thing! Fortunately my husband wasn’t bothered.

On Thursday night we had our breastfeeding class. My husband felt a bit awkward about attending, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that everyone was there as a couple. It’s great to see the partners invested in the process. The class involved a lot of videos of women breastfeeding as well as info on positioning, pumping, and storing milk. It’s hard to envision it all without actually doing it myself but it was a good start.

Finally, on Sunday, we had our first consult with our doula team. I had met some of them at a meet-and-greet event a while back, but this time two of them came to our apartment for an in-depth talk about our birth plan. They also showed us some positions we can use to manage pain, both in the late stages of pregnancy and during labor. On the day of the birth we’ll only have one doula with us but they like to have us meet the whole team in case our primary doula is unavailable and they have to send one of her colleagues from the same practice. Fortunately we’ve really liked everyone we’ve met. We’ll have a second consult with them this weekend.

We have a lot more classes coming up: childbirth prep, newborn care, car seat fitting, and comfort techniques for labor, all in the next two weeks! My OB visits are ramping up and I still have weekly non-stress tests. We really are getting close to the end!

Leave a Reply

