31 Weeks

FullSizeRender (2).jpg
Little Miss looking cute at today’s ultrasound! The tech thought she looks like her Dad but the doctor thought she looks like me. We’ll see!

How far along? 31 weeks and 2 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: About 8-9 pounds

Maternity Clothes: At this point it’s that or pajamas 🙂

Stretch Marks: None yet!

Sleep: Meh. Some nights are good, some are not so good. I’m still sleeping a lot – at least 9 hours/night – but some nights I wake up with crazy dreams and have trouble getting back to sleep. I’ve also started waking up to pee which is new.

Best Moment of the Week: Our 31-week growth ultrasound today! Little girl is measuring right on track for her gestational age. She currently weighs 3 pounds 14 ounces and is swimming around in plenty of amniotic fluid. The doctor said everything looks “perfect.” The doctor and the tech were also really impressed by the amount of hair they could see! They said it’s unusual at this stage for the baby to have so much hair on her head, and for it to be as long as it is. They said it’s a good sign she’s getting plenty of nutrition. She must get it from her Dad, though – he has always had tons of really thick hair whereas I was born totally bald!

The only negative is that she’s breech, but they said she still has plenty of time to flip. They don’t get worried about that until around 35 weeks.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg
Another ultrasound picture from today. Her little cheeks are really filling out now!
FullSizeRender.jpg
A profile shot from today. That’s her hand in front of her mouth, though it got kind of distorted in 3D. She was sucking on her hand for a lot of the ultrasound.

Miss Anything? Not especially. Since my blood sugars have been so good (and I’m still not needing any insulin!) I’ve been eating some more fruit, which has been a major craving. As long as I eat it with cheese or heavy cream it hasn’t been spiking my sugars. The farmer’s market here has had some amazing summer fruits coming in – cherries, plums, peaches, etc. – and I’ve been loving it.

Movement: Lots! She is constantly wiggling around. Her kicks aren’t as forceful now since she’s getting so big and squished in there, but the rolling around looks pretty dramatic from the outside. I’m hoping she rolls herself on out of the breech position before too much longer.

Food cravings: Sweets! Especially fruit.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Not really, no.

Symptoms: My legs have been more sore this week, which probably means I need to drink more water. My back is often sore now too. I scheduled a prenatal massage in a few weeks and I can’t wait.

Belly button in or out: As far out as it can go!

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy. I was thrilled to have such a good ultrasound checkup today!

Looking forward to: Starting our prenatal classes soon. We have classes lined up for labor prep, breastfeeding, and infant care. They ask you to wait to take them until the end of your pregnancy and I’m really ready to get started!

One thought on “31 Weeks

Leave a Reply

