22 Weeks

FullSizeRender.jpg

How far along? 22 weeks and 5 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016. Though I have a hunch she’ll be here in late July, based on the fact that most CF women I know tend to deliver before 40 weeks.

Total weight gain: Finally on the plus side!! I’m now +2 pounds over my pre-pregnancy weight. For those of you not following along, I lost about 10 pounds in my first trimester and it’s been a real struggle gaining it back.

Maternity Clothes: Oh yes. I’m still barely squeezing into my pre-pregnancy shirts, but a lot of them are getting too short now. I look like I have a beer belly hanging out the bottom! Pants are strictly maternity.

Stretch Marks: Still none yet! I’m not sure how, since my belly feels huge and stretched out. And it’s still got a long way to go!

Sleep: I have not been sleeping very well lately, to be honest. Even though I’m tired I have a hard time falling asleep, then I’m tossing and turning most of the night. I hope it’s not going to be like this for the rest of my pregnancy, but it very well might! Is a good night’s sleep a thing of the past for the next 18 years?

Best Moment of the Week: I went to a professional conference this weekend and it was awesome! It made me even more excited to be applying to grad school soon. The baby kicked the entire time, through every session, which I thought was funny. When I got back home this evening I had my husband hold his hand on my belly for about a half hour while we watched TV and he couldn’t believe how many kicks he felt. I felt so vindicated, because I’ve been telling him how active the baby is and I don’t think he quite got it before today! He even asked if it was normal how much she was moving, and if she was hurting me. I actually love it – it’s such a great feeling knowing she’s in there and doing well. And no, it doesn’t hurt (yet).

Miss Anything? Still wishing I could have some sushi. The conference I went to this weekend was held in a town with tons of great sushi places. 😦

Movement: Tons! I can’t believe how active she is! I can even see some of the bigger kicks from the outside now, which is crazy.

Food cravings: This week I reaaaally wanted Cheez-Its. Luckily they’re actually not super high-carb! My evenings after the conference consisted of sitting in bed in my hotel room eating Cheez-Its and watching Louie on Netflix. Living the dream, basically.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Not really.

Symptoms: The constipation struggle is real. My OB advised me to take 4 colace capsules a day and there still was very little action on that front, if you know what I mean. My CF team advised me to switch back to MiraLax, which is apparently more effective in the CF gut, and that’s helped a bit. But still… it’s bad. Other than that my belly is still growing and I’m still dealing with some acne. I’ve also felt like my boobs have started growing even more in the last week, which is kind of a bummer since I just bought a brand new bra (which I’m now rapidly outgrowing).

Belly button in or out: Out! You can kind of see it in the picture at the top of the post.

Happy or Moody: Still feeling pretty happy. Honestly, I haven’t had much of the infamous pregnancy mood swings since finishing the IVF meds.

Looking forward to: This is going to sound weird, but I’m looking forward to actually feeling like a parent. I mean, I know there’s a baby in there – I can feel her kicking, hear her heartbeat on the Doppler, and see her picture on ultrasound. But it still doesn’t feel real. I can’t wrap my head around the fact that in a few months we will have an actual little baby to take care of. In fact, it seems like my husband is way ahead of me on this. He has actually mentioned that I don’t seem as excited as he is. I am, but I guess I just have a hard time showing it because it still doesn’t feel real. So, that’s what I’m looking forward to. I don’t know when it will kick in – maybe when we have more time to work on the nursery, or at the baby shower – but when it does, I hope it’s a feeling of more joy and excitement than terror!

One thought on “22 Weeks

Leave a Reply

