19 Weeks

51KbxN0f0OL._SX342_.jpg
This isn’t me. I want this shirt so. badly. though. Rawr!

How far along? 19 weeks and 3 days. Almost to the halfway point!

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: Still hanging out at around -1 pounds.

Maternity Clothes: Yep! I can still get into some of my loose/stretchy pre-pregnancy shirts but they’re tight.

Stretch Marks: None yet! But my skin feels so tight that they can’t be too far off.

Sleep: Still sleeping about 9-10 hours per night, but I’m off naps at the moment. Still getting some occasional crazy dreams, though. Last night I dreamt that I somehow decided to charge a $75 cover(??) for anyone who came to my baby shower, so no one came and I was so sad. It was horrible.

Best Moment of the Week: The baby is kicking so much now! It’s amazing. I can even feel it from the outside when I lay my hand on my belly.

Miss Anything? Not particularly. Would love some sushi, but it’s not killing me to go without.

Movement: Yes! The baby is moving a lot these days. It’s wonderful having regular confirmation that my little one is alive and well in there. Some days there’s more activity than others – for example, yesterday I only felt a handful of kicks. However, when I busted out the Doppler to check things out, I heard a lot of movement, so maybe the baby was just in a weird position most of the day. I also called my OB who reassured me that it’s totally normal for activity to fluctuate at this stage and I don’t need to worry about doing kick counts for at least another 6-7 weeks. That was a relief.

Food cravings: Strawberry ice cream! But luckily, I can have it now!

On Monday I had an appointment with the endocrinologist who upped my daily carb intake significantly and prescribed insulin “as needed,” because they really want to see me gaining more weight now. Now I’m eating 60 carbs at meals and 30 with snacks, which is essentially like not being carb-restricted at all. I’m happily munching on ice cream, noodles, yogurt… anything I want, in moderation. And my sugars have actually been remarkably good, with only one value over the limit (after I ate a huge bowl of lo mein). I have my little insulin pen at the ready in case I start needing it – and the doctor says I probably will within a couple weeks – but I’ve come to terms with the fact that using it will be ok. It really helped to hear that 1) it will not create a dependency on insulin, and 2) it will likely go away as soon as I give birth. And the pen isn’t scary – it’s actually a lot like the Gonal-F pen I used during IVF, so I feel like an old pro.

I think a big part of my resistance to using it (until now) has been the fear of ceding control of yet another part of my body to CF, possibly forever. But it’s unlikely that’s the case, and regardless, I have to do what’s best for the baby.

Another thing that’s made it more manageable is a suggestion from my sweet husband. I’m not much of a cook, and I’ve been so busy with school these days that I’ve been stressed out about finding time to cook meals with the right amount of carbs. He recommended a delivery service that drops off pre-prepared dinners made by local chefs each day. The food is fresh and really tasty, and they offer lots of different healthy options (with all the nutritional info listed). I’ve done it a few days this week and it’s awesome.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Not really. I haven’t thrown up in ages now and I’m hoping to keep it that way.

Symptoms: HUNGER! In the last few days I’ve felt like I just can’t get enough to eat. I’ll snack continuously for hours and still want more. I’m eating healthy stuff – veggies, nuts, etc. – but also some good fattening food like Haagen Daz. Hopefully this should eliminate my weight gain problem.

Belly button in or out: Just about out! It hasn’t completely popped but it’s almost there.

Happy or Moody: Feeling pretty good overall. I was really feeling down on Monday after they prescribed the insulin, but my husband managed to pull me out of my funk. I don’t know what I’d do without him.

Looking forward to: Our 20-week ultrasound on Wednesday!!! It’s been two months since we last saw our little one via ultrasound and I can’t wait! Plus we’ll get a confirmation on his or her sex. Hopefully they agree with the SneakPeek test and say it’s a girl because my mom has already started knitting pink baby clothes. 🙂

We’ll also have a fetal echocardiogram and a check-up with the OB the same day. Given my insane hunger this week, I’m hoping to impress everybody with some weight gain. Then, if all is well, we’ll be sending out our baby shower invites!

Leave a Reply

