15 Weeks

img85c.jpg
Well… probably! More info in the post. 🙂

How far along? 15 weeks and 6 days (in under the wire!)

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: Still hanging out at around 150 pounds, which is a total weight gain of -5 pounds. Lost around 9 pounds in the first trimester but I’m working on gaining it back.

Maternity Clothes: Yes! These days I can only fit in maternity pants, sweatpants, and stretchy maxi skirts. I can still wear my regular shirts but they’re tight.

Stretch Marks: None yet.

Sleep: The weird dreams are killing me! I’m having really strange dreams and a lot of them are filled with stress and anxiety even though I’m not stressed out in real life. I wish there was something I could do to stop them. I’m still feeling pretty sleepy, with naps some days, so I feel like I can’t get away!

Best Moment of the Week: Two of them!

The first was hearing our baby’s heartbeat. When we first got pregnant we decided not to buy a home Doppler because we figured it would just stress us out. That lasted about… 15 weeks. 🙂 I’m so curious about how our little one is doing in there, and I broke down and ordered a handheld Doppler. I was nervous I wouldn’t hear anything, but after just a little searching that tell-tale heartbeat sound came through loud and clear! It was incredible! The heart rate was 150 beats per minute which is about right for this point. I was surprised at how low in my abdomen the signal was – about halfway to my bellybutton. Because my belly feels so much bigger I thought it would be higher up!

The second exciting moment of the week was finding out the (likely) sex of our baby. The results of our SneakPeek test came back! It’s important to preface this by saying that the results aren’t 100% accurate, so it’s not a sure thing, but… it’s (probably) A GIRL! I can’t wait to find out for sure at our 20-week anatomy scan next month! Our 12-week ultrasound tech also guessed that our baby is a girl so that adds a bit more legitimacy. We’re not sharing this info publicly yet, or buying girl clothes, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t starting to feel a bit attached to the idea of a daughter.

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 11.55.11 PM.png
The email with our SneakPeek results!

Miss Anything? Still missing carbs. Cake… pretzels… pastries… muffins… pancakes… I can’t wait to be able to eat whatever I want again. Happily my blood sugar is still holding steady.

Movement: I know I’ve said this before, but I keep thinking I’m feeling something! Sixteen weeks is about the earliest they say I might feel movement, so it *might* be for real… and if not, it will be soon.

Food cravings: Ruffles potato chips & sharp cheddar cheese!

Anything make you sick or queasy: Not really. I haven’t thrown up in over a week now, and haven’t felt like I needed to, so maybe I’m really finally done with morning sickness!

Symptoms: Not a whole lot at this point except for my big belly! I feel some weird pulling/mild pains sometimes, especially when I cough or move around a lot, which I think is because my uterus is growing. As I mentioned before, I’m also still more sleepy and having funky dreams.

Belly button in or out: It’s coming out! It’s sort of half in, half out.

Happy or Moody: I go back and forth. Sometimes I just feel irritable and tired. But the thing that makes me happiest is how sweet and excited my husband is. Now that the baby is starting to hear sounds, he’s been talking to my belly and telling her he loves her so much and can’t wait to meet her. It melts my heart!

Looking forward to: Seeing my OB this week for a checkup, and getting our anatomy scan about a month from now! I’m really looking forward to hearing how our baby is doing and getting a confirmation that she’s a she!

Leave a Reply

