14 Weeks

IMG_6089.JPG

How far along? 14 weeks and 4 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: I’m up to just -5 pounds! I lost about 9-10 pounds during my first trimester due to morning sickness and dietary restrictions for gestational diabetes, but I’ve gained about 5 pounds back at this point, which is awesome. My doctor will be psyched since weight gain has been a struggle for me due to my CF. Luckily now that I’m in my second trimester I feel hungry practically all the time.

Maternity Clothes: Yep! I’m wearing maternity jeans, sweatpants or maxi skirts every day now. My regular shirts still fit but they’re tighter.

Stretch Marks: None yet!

Sleep: Still feeling sleepy, but not as bad as in the first trimester. These days I usually sleep about 9 hours a night with the occasional afternoon nap thrown in.

Best Moment of the Week: We finally announced our pregnancy on social media! It was a lot of fun to get to share our news with friends we don’t see often. The outpouring of love and well wishes was so heart-warming.

Miss Anything? Still missing carby stuff like cake and pastries. I saw an IHOP ad the other day and was practically drooling. But the low-carb diet is getting easier with time and my blood sugars are still stable.

Movement: Nothing I can feel yet, but I can’t wait! Just a few more weeks!

Food cravings: Last night I reaaaaally wanted Ruffles potato chips. Luckily the grocery near our house is open 24 hours so I zipped over around midnight to pick some up. So good! And as long as I eat fewer than 12 chips in a serving I’m actually ok on my carb counts. It helps that they’re so fatty that they slow my digestion (preventing my sugars from spiking).

Anything make you sick or queasy: I’m still having the occasional puke in the mornings. It’s usually brought on by coughing hard on an empty stomach. Unfortunately when I first wake up there’s nothing in my stomach and I usually have to cough a bit since I haven’t coughed all night. It’s a recipe for disaster! But after that’s over with I don’t feel any more nausea for the rest of the day.

Symptoms: My belly is getting bigger, as you can see in my photo! It’s so exciting! I’m having a little bit of rhinitis (little bits of blood when I blow my nose), which isn’t a big deal. Still feeling more tired than normal but not as bad as before. As I mentioned, my appetite has really come back and the nausea has decreased. Oh – and I’ve noticed I’m a little off-balance! My pregnancy book warned me that might happen as my belly gets bigger, and it’s funny to see it actually happening. I’m normally not a very clumsy person but a few times today I kind of caught myself stumbling.

Belly button in or out: Still in, though I can tell it’s changing shape. I bet it’s going to pop out in the next month or two.

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy these days!

Looking forward to: Finding out the results of our gender test! We ordered the SneakPeek gender test this week and it arrived today. My husband is so curious about the baby’s sex and I have to admit I am, too. The test requires that you prick your finger and send in 1/2 mL of blood by mail, and you’re supposed to get the results emailed within a few days. It detects fetal DNA in the mother’s blood just like the Harmony test, but it’s a lot cheaper since it only tests for the presence of a Y chromosome. It doesn’t test for any chromosomal abnormalities. It can also be done at home, which is nice, and it was really straightforward to do. The nervewracking part, though, is that you have to be super careful not to let any males comes in contact with the kit since they can contaminate it with their DNA!

FullSizeRender.jpg
The kit! I took this picture after I was done and had everything sealed up in the return envelope, since I was really worried about contamination.

The company says the test is 99% accurate and they have lots of good reviews on Amazon that seem to back that up. However, they’re also currently being sued by a woman who alleges the accuracy is much lower (around 60%) based on her experience (they told her girl, she had a boy) and that of some other women who were discussing their complaints on Baby Center forums. I couldn’t find any independent studies to back up their accuracy rates, which worried me a bit. However, the vast majority of reviews I could find online (on Amazon and elsewhere) were from folks who found the test to be accurate, so we decided to go for it. At $79 it felt like the right balance of cheap and (probably) accurate! We looked at going to get an elective ultrasound done prior to our 20-week anatomy scan, but the places around here either had really bad reviews, or were far away and pricey ($200+). *shrug* We’ll be excited about the results of this test, but we probably won’t announce anything until after the 20-week scan to confirm.

Oh! One more thing! My mother-in-law called yesterday to ask how we would feel about her throwing us a baby shower in May. It was so sweet of her. We’ve been debating whether or not to have one since we live across the country from our families and most of our friends. We’ve been here for a few years but haven’t really developed much of a social group in town since we’re the unfortunate combination of super busy with school/work and introverted. But it’s something our families would really like to do, and we’ll be able to pull together a small group of friends, coworkers, and family to have a little celebration here. I’m already looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

