11 Weeks

IMG_6009.JPG
I thought I’d go with a frontal shot this week, since that’s how I can see the bump best! I don’t usually have that little pot belly there. 🙂

How far along? 11 weeks and 1 day

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: So far, -5 pounds. I lost about 9 pounds due to morning sickness but I’ve now started gaining it back under the guidance of my OB clinic’s dietician.

Maternity Clothes: Not yet, but for the first time I can definitely see a bump! Before I had just been looking a little rounder, but there’s a definitely little pot belly that’s distinguishable now. I think I’m going to need some maternity jeans soon.

Stretch Marks: None yet!

Sleep: Still feeling really sleepy and still having crazy dreams. This week I had my first baby dream, except the baby was a perfect miniature, small enough to fit in the palm of my hand! In my dream it wasn’t a preemie, just really tiny. I was carrying it around in my cupped hands like a mouse.

Best Moment of the Week: Seeing my tiny bump, and knowing it’s actually the real thing – not just bloating! It’s unmistakeable to me though it’s kind of hard to pick out in pictures. It’s not fat, it’s just a firm little bump. I’ve never had anything like it. I’ve also noticed that I can see some veins under the skin on my belly, which is new. I’m a pale lady and have always been able to see them in certain places, but never near my belly button!

I also had two other fun moments this week. The first was visiting my husband’s cousins, who were looking to get rid of a bunch of baby gear their toddlers have outgrown. We got a crib, mattress, crib sheets, blankies, newborn car seat, and play pen – for free! Awesome!

Finally, we met with the genetic counselor today to discuss prenatal testing. I had a blood draw done last week for a screening test and next week I’ll be doing my nuchal translucency ultrasound. After the ultrasound they’ll use the data from the scan + bloodwork to determine our risk of chromosomal abnormalities. Since I’m still in my 20’s the risk is quite low, which is encouraging. However, depending on the results of the screen we may do the Harmony test, which gives more detail and certainty – and can also tell us our baby’s sex with 99% accuracy! My husband really wants to do it, but I’d like to wait to see if our insurance will cover it first. By the way, he’s been so sweet and excited this week – he told me the other day he wishes our baby was just here already because 9 months is too long to wait! He’s not a very effusive guy so it really makes me happy to hear him talking that way.

Miss Anything? Still sweets. I’m still monitoring my blood glucose and tracking my food intake for the dietician, and I’m excited that so far I’ve been able to keep my blood sugar in check with diet alone. However, things like pastries, cakes, candy, etc. are definitely off the menu. I saw someone eating a cupcake on TV the other day and just about died.

giphy.gif

Movement: Ok, it may be nothing, but I think I might have felt something today. It may very well be gas since I’m still very early along – most women say you don’t really feel anything until you’re 16+ weeks, especially with a first pregnancy. However, I’m slender (which apparently makes a difference) and I was lying on my back with a really full bladder, so everything was kind of pushed together, and I felt this tiny flutter in my uterus area. I felt it a few times. I don’t know if it was the real deal or not, but it’s fun to think it might be!

Food cravings: Right now I’m loving this cheesy popcorn that’s actually pretty low-carb in small servings. I’ve also been really into sour cream, which luckily is exactly the kind of high-calorie, low-carb food I’m supposed to be eating right now. The other night I had a grilled cheese (multigrain bread + butter + cheddar + muenster) dipped in sour cream and it was soooo good. I know that sounds kind of gross, but I’m on doctor’s orders to gain weight!

Anything make you sick or queasy: My morning sickness is actually a lot better. I think I’m nearing the end. That said, I did throw up (more like dry heave) this morning for the first time in a week or so. But! The constant nausea is waning and I usually only feel icky when I first wake up and late at night. My mom said her nausea started to go away around this time too, so hopefully I’m one of the lucky ones that will really get to be done puking by my second trimester!

(However, today at my weigh-in at the OB clinic, the nurse was super critical of that idea… she was kind of a bummer. She told me morning sickness usually lasts a lot longer, and she herself was in and out of the hospital until 5 months because she was so dehydrated from puking. Gee thanks, lady.)

Symptoms: The morning sickness is getting better but I’m still feeling really tired and having wild dreams. My boobs continue to feel gigantic, which is actually kind of fun (I’m not used to having actual cleavage!). And now I have a bump! I still haven’t told a lot of people so I’ve been trying to disguise it with big shirts, but that just makes me look kind of weirdly chubby around the middle. Ha!

Belly button in or out: Still in, though I’m noticing it looks a bit different, maybe due to a little stretching. I’m the only one who can really tell, though. 🙂

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy this week! I’m getting used to dealing with all the gestational diabetes stuff and even though it’s a pain, it’s not so bad.

Looking forward to: Our 12-week ultrasound/nuchal scan a week from today! I can’t wait to see our munchkin again and (hopefully) learn that all is well.

One thought on “11 Weeks

Leave a Reply

