10 Weeks

IMG_5994.JPG

Sorry I missed my 9-week update! I had family here visiting this past week and it’s been a busy time.

How far along? 10 weeks and 2 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: So I found out on Wednesday that I’ve actually lost about 9 pounds. Part of that is my feeling too nauseous to eat very much, and part of it has been that I’ve been really watching my diet since I found out I have gestational diabetes. For my entire life the goal has just been to get as many calories in as possible (since CF causes malabsorption) and the heaviest I’ve ever been is about 157. Now I’m walking the line between not eating too many carbs (or too few!) while not spiking my blood glucose and gaining weight, and it’s really, really hard.

Maternity Clothes: Not yet, though my sister and I did go shopping for some! I’m definitely feeling like my pants are too tight.

Stretch Marks: Not yet!

Sleep: Still feeling really tired. I’ve been taking 2-hour naps every afternoon.

Best Moment of the Week: My morning sickness seems to be subsiding in the last few days! I’m still having some nausea but I haven’t been vomiting. My mom said hers started to fade around this time too, so hopefully it’s really on it’s way out.

Miss Anything? Fruit! I’m still allowed to have some on this low-carb diet, but not much… and I have to pair it with something fatty to slow my digestion and avoid a glucose spike. I’ve just been craving fruit this whole pregnancy so not being able to have it is a bummer. My family was also really into this local bakery while they were here so there were tons of delicious pastries around, which are a definite no-no for me right now. Ugh!

Movement: Not yet! Luckily my cramping has pretty much stopped but I’m getting occasional round ligament pain as well as a general stretching feeling.

Food cravings: Nothing in particular right now, though as I mentioned I’d really like to eat more fruit. And pancakes, waffles, pastries… basically all the stuff I’m forbidden from having.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Meat. I’ve always been a meat-eater but since getting pregnant I’ve had kind of an aversion to it – especially white meat and fish. I can get behind a good steak every once in a while, though.

Symptoms: Right now it’s mostly feeling sleepy and still having swollen, tender breasts. I’m noticing a definite bump now. Oh, and the constipation! MiraLax is my best friend right now.

Belly button in or out: Still in.

Happy or Moody: Moody. I had kind of a meltdown earlier today after I got a bad blood glucose reading. The nutritionist at my OB office gave me a monitor and I have to stick my fingers after every meal, in addition to keeping a food diary. Even though my hemoglobin a1c was just borderline my post-meal glucose readings have all been either borderline or high, which makes me think I’ll almost certainly need to go on insulin… especially since the placenta secretes substances that break down insulin starting from about 10 weeks (now) until delivery. Basically, I’m already not making enough insulin, and insulin needs triple by the end of pregnancy. It’s been a lot to take in and to be honest I’m not handling it very well. And already being moody from these pregnancy hormones hasn’t been helping. I’m not only worried about my baby’s health and mine during pregnancy – I’m also upset about the fact that this means my pancreatic function is likely going to continue to decline to the point where I’ll need insulin even after being pregnant. It might take a few years but it’s likely to happen. It’s one more problem – one more thing to add on top of my already-extensive healthcare routine – that I really don’t need. And it may mean that this will be my only pregnancy.

Sorry to be a downer, but I haven’t been at my best this week.

Looking forward to: This weekend my husband and I will be visiting his cousins to check out their stash of leftover baby items! They have three young kids and aren’t planning on having any more so they’re eager to offload supplies. It’s perfect timing for us! We’re looking forward to picking out some cute stuff.

Leave a Reply

