8 Weeks

82116629-050b-4dc1-95f7-a32d8641238f.jpg

How far along? 8 weeks and 4 days

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: Well, they weighed me at the doctor’s office this week and I was 153, which is actually a little less than I usually weigh. It wouldn’t surprise me if I’ve lost a little weight since I’m eating so little right now due to my morning sickness.

Maternity Clothes: Not yet!

Stretch Marks: Not yet!

Sleep: Still sleeping a lot. Since I’m on winter break from my grad program I’ve been able to sleep about 10 hours a night, sometimes with an afternoon nap for good measure.

Best Moment of the Week: We had our orientation at the OB clinic! It was just a visit with a nurse so there wasn’t any ultrasound, but it’s the first step in getting set up there. They also drew blood for a bunch of standard prenatal labs, did a urine test, and set me up with an appointment with the genetic counselor in a few weeks so that we can do the Harmony blood test.

Miss Anything? My appetite! Lately I haven’t wanted to eat much of anything since I’ve felt so nauseous.

Movement: Not yet!

Food cravings: Most of what I’m craving at this point is still carbs. Unfortunately, my bloodwork from earlier in the week showed elevated hemoglobin a1c, which put me in the borderline region for high blood sugar. The doctor wants me to do an oral glucose tolerance test on Monday to see if I’m developing gestational diabetes. Unfortunately this isn’t that uncommon in people with Cystic Fibrosis, but I was really hoping to avoid it. I’m hoping for good news after I do the test, but in the mean time I’m cutting way down on carbs. I’m pretty much just eating salad, cheese, veggies, eggs, and meat – none of which I want right now. But, sadly, no carbs for me.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Everything! I feel nauseous all day long. I’m still not really puking, but I’ve come close lots of times. The major trigger is coughing, which I have to do since it’s important to clear my lungs. Fortunately the nurse told me a good way to stop the nausea is by taking vitamin B6 with half a tablet of Unisom. I tried it yesterday and it did seem to help a bit.

Symptoms: Nausea, vivid dreams, fatigue, sore boobs, excess saliva, and acne. Still having some occasional mild cramping in my uterus, especially when I stand up after sitting or lying down for a while, but I haven’t had any issues with spotting or severe cramps so I’m not too worried about it.

Belly button in or out: Still in.

Happy or Moody: Kind of moody, but I think it’s mostly all these symptoms. Although I’m thrilled to be pregnant it really isn’t much fun being pregnant right now. I can’t wait until this morning sickness finally subsides!

Looking forward to: Ultrasounds! On Monday morning I have my final ultrasound with my fertility doctor, then on Tuesday we have our first visit with the OB, which will also involve an ultrasound. We haven’t seen our little nugget since that first 6-week ultrasound and next week he or she will be 9 weeks!

I’ve been watching YouTube videos of 9-week ultrasounds and often you can see little arms and legs wiggling on the screen. I can’t wait – and I really hope everything is looking normal. If it is our risk of miscarriage drops to around 3-4% and we’ll be telling a few more people.

Actually, one of my husband’s cousins (who has had 4 kids) asked my mother-in-law if I was pregnant after spending time with us over the holidays. She kept our secret, but I guess we won’t be able to hide it much longer! Plus, this particular cousin is finished having babies and now that her youngest is 3, she’s looking to offload some old baby gear, which could be perfect for us! Yay for hand-me-downs. 😉

Leave a Reply

