6 Weeks

IMG_5906.JPG

Wow, I really look like I have a bump in this picture! In reality I just feel bloated, but at least I have an excuse. The baby’s only the size of a lentil so surely it can’t be creating much of a bump yet… right?

How far along? 6 weeks and 4 days today

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: Still haven’t weighed myself! But at least I don’t think I’m losing.

Maternity Clothes: Nah, but I’m mostly living in sweat pants, stretchy maxi skirts, and my two biggest pairs of jeans.

Stretch Marks: Not yet, thank goodness!

Sleep: Soooo sleepy. Today I took a 3-hour nap and was still totally wiped out.

Best Moment of the Week: Our first ultrasound! Even though our baby just looks like a little white smudge right now, seeing that tiny heart beating was wonderful. More on this in my previous post.

A close second was getting to tell our immediate family about the pregnancy yesterday after the ultrasound. My sister has known since our second beta but it was news for our parents and my brother-in-law. Since my parents live far away I gave them the good news via Skype and they were so psyched! It was also a lot of fun telling my husband’s family. His mom and brother flew in last night and will be staying with us for a few weeks. We met them at the airport and gave him mom a wrapped gift with this picture inside:

6 weeks for sc.jpg
“Mamma” is the name used for the grandmother on the father’s side in Telugu, the language of the part of India where my mother-in-law lived for most of her life.

At first she thought we were joking, but once we assured her it was real she was so excited! She screamed in the middle of the airport! This will be the first grandchild on both sides of our family and she’s been asking us since a month after the wedding whether we were pregnant yet!

The due date is especially significant for her because it’s actually the birthday of her deceased husband, my husband’s father. It was really special to her to hear that.

Movement: Not yet! But I do feel some funny cramping (mild) as my uterus expands, and my stomach muscles feel stretched when I stand up straight. Things are changing down there!

Miss Anything? Not feeling gross and sick all the time.

Food cravings: Not so much cravings as, “Well, what could I entice myself to eat today?” My nausea has really kicked into gear this week and most of the time nothing sounds appetizing. Yesterday was the first and only time I’ve actually puked but the queasiness is pretty much constant now. Things I’ve been able to talk myself into eating are mostly dairy (cottage cheese, string cheese, yogurt) and fruit (bananas, pears, apples). Today my brother-in-law made us some guac that was pretty tasty. I did learn this week that fried food is probably off the menu – I indulged in a delicious lunch of fried fish with onion rings on Tuesday and had horrible heartburn for about 12 hours. I never get heartburn, so this was new for me! Now we have Tums on hand just in case.

Anything make you sick or queasy: Two smells in particular: olives and coffee (both of which I’ve never liked anyway). And when I’m having a bad bout of nausea anything food-related makes me feel sicker. My husband mentioned grabbing dinner before going to the ballet tomorrow night and I almost lost my cookies. He was incredulous: “Now I can’t even say ‘dinner’??” However, he’s been the absolute sweetest about taking care of me. When I’m lying down and don’t feel like moving he’ll stop watching the game to go make me ginger tea or bring me a snack. I’m so thankful for him.

Symptoms: The nausea is the biggest thing, but I also still have the huge sore boobs, fatigue, mild cramping, and acne. I noticed this week I’m peeing a bit more often than normal too.

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy, though the constant nausea has been getting me down a bit.

Looking forward to: Spending some time with my in-laws for Christmas and seeing the Nutcracker tomorrow night!

Finally, here’s a cool chart I found online with real pictures of the baby at various stages. Today he or she’s at stage 14 (32 days post-ovulation). Kind of cute, huh? Like a little gummy bear!

Embryos.png

Leave a Reply

