First Ultrasound

6 weeks captions copy.jpg

Today was an incredible day. We got to see our baby on ultrasound for the first time!

Today I am 6 weeks and 2 days along and the baby is about the size of a pea. Our IVF doctor did a transvaginal ultrasound and was able to see the heartbeat right away. We even got a video of that tiny heart fluttering on the ultrasound! It was truly amazing.

The doctor said the baby is measuring a good size (I was so excited I forgot what it was!) and everything looks good. I’ll be back in two weeks for another ultrasound so make sure things are still looking good, and if so I’ll be released to the care of my high-risk OB.

From what I’ve read, once we see the heartbeat at the 6 week scan our chances of miscarriage go down to about 10-11%. If all looks good at the 8 week scan they go down to about 2-3%. At 12 weeks onward it’s only 1%. So we’re cautiously optimistic! We decided to tell our parents today and we’re really looking forward to seeing their reactions.

In other news, today was the first day I actually threw up from morning sickness. I’ve been feeling queasy most days since about 4 and 1/2 weeks, but it’s been getting steadily more intense. This morning I popped! As gross as I feel, I’m glad because morning sickness is a good sign.

Still working on this week’s update post – I just couldn’t wait to share our first ultrasound picture!

4 thoughts on “First Ultrasound

Leave a Reply

