5 Weeks

Image-1.jpg

How far along? 5 weeks and 5 days today (sorry this post is a bit late!)

Due Date: August 9th, 2016

Total weight gain: I really have no idea… I never weigh myself. I should get on that!

Maternity Clothes: Not yet! But I’m wearing my biggest jeans and they’re somewhat snug because of the bloating.

Stretch Marks: None yet!

Sleep: Feeling really sleepy most days. Today I took a 3-hour nap and it was glorious. On a related note, this is on my Christmas list:

nappingfortwo_1024x1024.jpg

Best Moment of the Week: Finishing my final exams for the semester! I just have a few more classes to go until I’m done with this program!

Miss Anything? Today I saw a picture of sushi and really, really missed it. But the sacrifice will be worth it. Luckily I don’t drink coffee or alcohol anyway, so giving those up entailed… not doing anything different. No, I’m not Mormon, I just don’t like them.

Movement: Ha! Not yet, it’s still about the size of a sesame seed. But the cramping I felt for the first week has pretty much stopped except for the occasional twinge.

Food cravings: Nothing in particular, though I’ve been really into pears lately. I got a big box of them through a fruit-and-cheese-of-the-month box my mom gave us and I remembered how totally awesome pears are.

Anything making you sick or queasy? Actually, not having anything in my stomach makes me feel queasy. Also, taking my prenatal vitamins on an empty stomach. Interestingly the queasiness really comes and goes. Some days I walk around feeling unsettled all day and others I feel great. Some days, like today, I feel fine all day then get hit with a random, intense wave of nausea. Unfortunately for me tonight it happened in the middle of my cooking garlic-lemon-butter salmon (so good) and a big old butternut squash from the farmer’s market – and by the time it was done I could only eat a few bites of fish because it was grossing me out. Ugh!

Symptoms: Mostly nausea, fatigue, and acne at this point. Sometimes I do think my sense of smell is more finely attuned, but that comes and goes. My belly feels bigger but it’s probably just bloating from the progesterone. Oh, and my boobs are HUGE! I went to buy myself some new bras at Victoria’s Secret this weekend since I was busting out of my old ones, and they measured me at a 34DD. That is insane. I’m usually only a B, or maybe a C on a good day. Unfortunately for my husband they’re way too sore to be much fun, though.

Belly button in or out: In!

Happy or Moody: Pretty happy. I haven’t really felt too moody, but I’m a bit more quick to cry when I see sad commercials on TV. I also find myself being more clingy with my husband, especially when I’m feeling queasy.

Looking forward to: Our first ultrasound on Thursday! I can’t wait but I’m also feeling really nervous about it – I really hope we see the heartbeat and everything looks good. If so we’ll be spilling the beans to our parents that afternoon. I was keeping them in the loop on our fertility treatments so they’ve started asking if we have any news, but I’ve been putting them off. It’s so hard not to say anything!

Random tidbits: Now that the semester’s over I have some more time on my hands. Here are a few baby-related things I’ve been enjoying:

  • BabyCenter’s My Pregnancy Today app: it gives you a picture of what your baby looks like each week and has built-in articles, checklists, message boards with women due in the same month, and a place to store your weekly “bumpies” (bump + selfie).
  • The Pregnancy Podcast with Vanessa Merten on iTunes: light 15-25 minute weekly episodes on what to expect each trimester, prenatal care, prepping for baby, etc.
  • Bump for Joy pregnancy diary: I saw it in a local baby store and totally judged the book by its cover. It’s freaking adorable! It’s fun to fill out and includes some prenatal education as well.
  • Expecting Better by Emily Oster: I wouldn’t call this a light read – the author is a University of Chicago professor of economics who applies her analytical skills to distilling down the vast world of research on pregnancy into practical advice. It springs from her own frustration during her 2011 pregnancy, when all she got from her healthcare providers were generalizations and platitudes, not hard data on exactly how, for example, they know caffeine is bad for pregnant ladies (she later finds that it probably isn’t). My husband is the kind of guy who can only be convinced of something our doctor tells us if he can review the original study on PubMed*, so when I asked him to read a baby book this is what he picked out. Now when I ask him a question on pregnancy it’s like drinking from a firehose!

*To be clear, he’s never a jerk about it. He doesn’t grill the doctor or act like a know-it-all. Once the appointment’s over he just jumps right on PubMed (and he has the training to know what he’s looking at). He’s just extremely skeptical and likes to see the original research for himself to draw his own conclusions. It’s one of the things I love about him!

2 thoughts on “5 Weeks

Leave a Reply

