Early Symptoms

FullSizeRender.jpg
Our little nugget isn’t even born yet but he/she’s already made the fridge!

Today I am 4 weeks and 3 days pregnant. I’m 13 days away from our first ultrasound. One week ago I was convinced I wasn’t pregnant, but since the whirlwind of home tests and blood tests in the past few days I’m definitely starting to notice some changes.

First, let me say that I didn’t really notice any symptoms prior to our first positive pregnancy test on Sunday. I think it was just too early at that point. But since then, here’s what’s been going on:

  • Fatigue: I am so sleepy. Every afternoon around 3 or 4 pm I want to curl up in a ball and take a nap. I’m ready for bed by 10:30 and I’m struggling to get out of bed in the morning.
  • Nausea: I didn’t think I would feel this so soon, but it’s happening! I haven’t actually thrown up but I’ve felt pretty queasy. It happens on and off throughout the day, often when I haven’t eaten anything.
  • Hunger: I feel hungry pretty much all the time and I’m eating much larger portions than I usually would want.
  • Smells: This is a sterotypical one, and I haven’t had too much smell sensitivity. But every once in a while something will hit me and smell really awful. Yesterday it was a bowl of olives at a salad bar. Gag.
  • Cramping: It’s becoming more occasional, but I do feel some pulling and cramping, particularly on the right side. At first this made me nervous it might be ectopic but the cramping is pretty mild and decreasing each day, and I haven’t had any other issues that would suggest a tubal pregnancy. Fingers crossed everything looks normal on the ultrasound.
  • Runny/bloody nose: This is a weird one and I’m not convinced it’s pregnancy related, but I’m not sure what else it would be. Apparently “rhinitis of pregnancy” is a real thing but it usually doesn’t show up until later in the pregnancy. Shrug.
  • Acne: I tend to have issues with acne but it’s been a bit worse lately.
  • Sore/gigantic boobs: Oh my god. I thought they were swollen and sore on the Endometrin before, but it’s reached a whole other level. None of my bras fit and when I sit up in bed in the morning it falls my boobs are straight up going to fall off. I’m also noticing some changes on my nipples.
  • Emotions: I wouldn’t say I’m moody, though my poor husband might disagree. I’m just feeling things more strongly. Sometimes I picture our little future baby’s face and I want to cry because I’m so happy!

I think that’s it for now. The most persistent thing is the queasy feeling which lasts most of the day. It’s unpleasant, but I also love it because it tells me things are as they should be. Yesterday I didn’t feel much of anything and it made me worried, but today it’s back with a vengeance!

Really, these symptoms are the only thing I have to tell me how my little one is doing. My ultrasound is still nearly two weeks away and I don’t have any more tests or doctor’s visits before that. I don’t want to do any more home pregnancy tests because they’ll just stress me out if I don’t like the way the line looks. This is even harder than the original two-week-wait: I know I’m pregnant, but I have no idea how my little poppyseed is doing in there!

On the other hand, I’m really having to fight the urge to tell everyone I see that I’m pregnant. Feeling crummy in Trader Joe’s? Let’s tell the clerk! Turning down sushi at a party? I can explain! A friend just announced her pregnancy? Me too! However, as much as I want to share the news, we haven’t actually told anyone except my sister, who was over-the-moon excited. The day after our conversation I got this text from her:

IMG_5488.PNG

That made me so happy! I can’t wait to tell the rest of our families, but we want to wait until after our first ultrasound on December 17th, just in case.

Actually, there are two other people I’ve told: my CF doctor and the high-risk OB. The nurse at the OB’s office was so sweet and excited for us! She’s going to be scheduling us for an orientation visit around 8 weeks, then once we’re handed off from the fertility clinic in January I’ll start seeing them regularly for my prenatal check-ups. I can’t wait!

My CF doctor was just happy to be kept in the loop, but doesn’t need me to do anything different at this point.

These next few weeks are going to be pretty busy. I’m in the middle of final exams so I have plenty of studying to do, then next weekend we have a couple of holiday parties to attend. We planned a little roadtrip getaway for a couple of days after that, then when we arrive home it will time for the big ultrasound. If everything looks good and they see the heartbeat we’ll be telling our families the good news that afternoon. Then it’s a flurry of gift shopping, mailing Christmas cards, and celebrating the holidays! So much to look forward to this month – and in 2016. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Early Symptoms

  1. This is all great news!! I second all these symptoms!! I upgraded to a sports bra under my regular bra effective today because it felt like my boobs were LITERALLY going to fall off. Looking forward to your good news post ultrasound.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

