Day 5 Ultrasound: We Have Follicles!

I just got back from my ultrasound and I’m so excited! Today is day five of stims and I’m definitely feeling eggy. I can feel pressure in my ovaries when I walk, sit down, stand up… things are happening! I walked into my appointment thinking, “He better see something good in there or I’m going to feel like an idiot.”

And he did! He told me he likes to see at least 12 follicles growing and I have 17! He said this is exactly what he wants to see and my body is responding very well to the meds. The largest follicle is about 12mm and most of them are in the neighborhood of 10mm. He was happy to see they’re all growing at about the same pace. He instructed me to start the Ganirelix tomorrow morning and come back for another ultrasound Friday morning. Since the Ganirelix can “pump the brakes” on follicle growth, he may also bump up my Menopur and Gonal-F from 75 units to 100 units per day if necessary. He’s not sure exactly when the egg retrieval will be, but he expects probably Tuesday or Wednesday. So exciting!

My husband couldn’t make it to the appointment this morning because of work but he was psyched to hear things are progressing well. He also asked me when it’s his time to deliver the goods – ha! Since it’s the same day as the egg retrieval it won’t be until next week. He’s been so good about helping me with my shots every night – although in this case, “helping” just entails standing there and listening to me complain about how the Menopur hurts. He’s ready and willing to step in, but I like doing the injections myself. In fact, on Monday night when my family was still here visiting, I had lots of “helpers” since everybody wanted to see me give myself a shot!

It does feel like the injections are getting easier as time goes on. They do hurt more – maybe because my belly is tired of getting poked? – but I’m not as freaked out about sticking the needle in.

Breakfast each morning!
Breakfast each morning!

I’m also trying to eat healthier. I bought a whole bunch of avocados and I’ve been eating one for breakfast every day. I’ve also bought lots of other good stuff like salmon, artichokes, string beans, and pineapple. I’ve never bought a whole pineapple before, but it’s supposed to help with fertility and implantation! Plus, I like pineapple. So even if doesn’t do a darn thing to help, I still get to eat pineapple.

I’m also drinking lots of water. I don’t normally, so I was worried it might be hard to make myself do it, but I’ve actually felt fairly thirsty so it’s working out. I think all that liquid is going into my bloated belly! I know some ladies drink Gatorade instead of water (for the electrolytes) but there’s a lot of sweetener in Gatorade and I’m trying not to spike my blood sugar. So, water it is.

I’ve officially reached the point where I’m not allowed to exercise anymore, which is fine by me. I don’t typically exercise much anyway. And going for a jog right now seems awful given the fact that my ovaries are jostling around down there every time I move!

Overall I’m just feeling content and hopeful right now. I hope all 17 of these little follicles yield an egg, and if most of them do, we should have a good chance of getting some good-looking embryos. I can’t believe next week is the big week! I could be pregnant by the end of the month!

3 thoughts on “Day 5 Ultrasound: We Have Follicles!

  1. I had so many follicles they had me start drinking only Gatorade/vitamin water/powerade the day of my retrieval. The day of my transfer I asked if i could stop and they said no. I am officially on day 15 of this crap and I’m so ready for ICE WATER!

    Like

  2. Best of luck to you and your 17 follicles:) tomorrow will be my day 7 ultrasound. So far I have 16 eggs and two are already mature! I thought the Menopur shots were bad, but I absolutely hate the Ganirellix shots! They hurt and burn and itch….lol I’ll go through any of this if it means a healthy baby at the end though! Lots of baby dust to you:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

