Thinking About IVF

I mentioned in my last post that I’ve been thinking about moving to IVF next cycle if this cycle ends up being a bust. Today I spoke with my insurance about it and they told me I don’t need to exhaust my three funded IUI attempts before moving on to IVF, so there shouldn’t be any issue with it being covered. How often do you actually get good news from insurance? 🙂

My husband and I talked about it some more tonight too. He admitted that he feels like we haven’t really given IUI a fair shot since the timing and the semen samples have been less-than-ideal both times, but he agreed that moving on to more aggressive treatment makes sense given our timeline.

I see where he’s coming from. Of course, no one wants a long, drawn-out process of fertility treatments, but I think if my CF and my grad school timing were not factors, I would be fine with doing more IUIs (up to 4 or 5) before moving to IVF. The more I read about the IVF process – the injections, the risks, the retrieval procedure – the less psyched I am about actually going through it. But do you know what sucks more? Spinning my wheels doing IUIs for another 3 months, then (assuming the IVF works) leaving a newborn at home to fly around the country doing grad school interviews. Not to mention the possibility of getting sick without the benefit of a full arsenal of drugs at my doctor’s disposal.

I’m also trying not to fall into the trap of thinking IVF is going to be the magic bullet that gets me pregnant. It’s just another thing to try. Granted, it has a much better success rate, but the odds for any given cycle are that it won’t work. So while it feels good the say, “Forget IUI, let’s just get this done with IVF,” that’s not necessarily the way it’s going to work.

So, worst case scenario: IVF doesn’t work either. All three IVF cycles fail. Where does that leave us? Well, kind of screwed. Ok, not entirely, but it means our carefully crafted plan for the next 5 years is going to have to change fairly drastically. I would either delay grad school another year, or I’d go on ahead and we’d try again for a baby toward the end of it, 4 or 5 years later. Whether then or in 5 years we’d be “trying” via IUIs and paying out of pocket since our fertility benefits would be used up, and we can’t bankroll our own IVF cycles at this juncture. It wouldn’t be great, but it would be ok. That’s comforting to know – that even in the worst case scenario things would be all right. Well, I guess the worst worst case scenario is never being able to get pregnant, but I still believe my doctor when he tells me he thinks that’s unlikely.

Overall, today was a good day. Good news from insurance, good talk with my husband. Actually, he and I ended up snuggling and talking about all sorts of things for about 5 hours straight this evening – that’s why I’m doing my vest and blogging at 2 in the morning instead of sleeping! No skipping treatments if I want to stay healthy for a pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

