Every Sperm is Useful

Last post was kind of a downer, but today I have some good news! My husband finally got to talk to the nurse about his semen test results. He had gotten the raw data on paper but has been playing phone tag with the nurse for the last few weeks. She interpreted the results and said his end of the bargain should work out just fine for IUI, which is our plan. Awesome!

And now for something completely different (well, sort of):

Man, I love me some Monty Python. If this didn’t at least make you smile, then I don’t know if we’re going to be friends. If you’ve never heard of these guys, hop on Google because you’re missing out!

In ovulation news, I’ve gotten “high fertility” (not yet “peak fertility”) indicators for the last two days (CD 10 and 11). I’m using the Clear Blue Advanced OPKs which have a two-tiered system explained here:

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 10.26.03 AM

And here’s a nice graph (I like graphs):

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 10.23.47 AM

Hopefully I’ll get the “peak” indicator tomorrow or the next day. Last cycle I just got one flashing smiley indicator, then got the solid smiley the following day. I’ve been taking a break from temping for the time being but I’m thinking about starting again to see if I get a shift after my peak fertility days (provided I don’t just immediately get my period like last cycle). I’ve read that you can have the hormone surge and get positive OPKs and still not ovulate, which concerns me. A temperature shift after the “peak fertility” days would confirm ovulation.

As I mentioned earlier we’re still in the data gathering phase – we’re probably not going to do our first IUI until September or October, since getting pregnant sooner than that would impact my graduate coursework pretty significantly. Nonetheless I’d be lying if I said I didn’t kind of wish for a positive pregnancy test, even though the timing would suck. There are so many stories of people who start seeing a fertility doctor and then just magically get pregnant before the interventions even begin! I doubt that’s going to happen in our case given the multiple issues we’re facing and the fact that we haven’t conceived in four years of unprotected sex, but… *shrug*.

I’m just feeling hyperaware of anything baby- or pregnancy-related these days. For example, my cousin just posted an ultrasound picture on Facebook to announce her pregnancy… and she just got married a couple months ago! Given the timing they must have gotten pregnant within weeks of the wedding. And she’s already in her mid-thirties. I’m 8 years younger and it’s just not happening for us. I wouldn’t say I’m jealous – and I’m definitely happy for her – but it does bum me out a bit.

Fingers crossed for a better cycle this month!

Leave a Reply

